Coffee Keeps Life in Balance

I’m working on a new project today.

The Working Title is:  “Karma Macchiato”.

Screen shot of the 1st rough in ArtRage Studio

1st rough in ArtRage Studio

The original idea for this one came about in August of 2008 while I was playing around with some new project ideas.

Coffee is one of my favorite subjects.  I had this black & white Yin/Yang image.  black and white symbol of Yin & YangI imagined painting it as the foamy ‘crema’ atop a cup of a macchiato.  (In Italian “caffe macchiato” means “marked coffee”  – an espresso with just a little marking of steamed milk on top. )

So I’d done a few sketches when it occurred to me that just maybe I could animate it – make it transform, morphing from a crema into the Yin & Yang…

The image below is the origial proof-of-concept test.   This is an image type called a “GIF” – stands for Graphical Interchange Format.

animation: a macchiato crema transforms into Yin and Yang

"Yin/Yang Crema" by Raoul Widman, 2008

I used Paint.Net  to create all of the individual images and then interlaced them with UnFREEze to create the animated GIF.

The project went on the shelf and I decided to haul it out and do it up right.  So that’s what I’m up to today.  When it’s finished I’ll come back and post it here.

One response to “Coffee Keeps Life in Balance

  1. Pingback: Karma Macchiato – Day 2 | Another Day in the Studio

Leave a comment