WALTZING to the Scrabble Beat-Down

I have a buddy in Switzerland I play Scrabble with.    He tends to win 3 out of 4 games, but I keep on trying.

Since I draw and paint as much as I play I’ve used Scrabble in a lot of cartoons.  This one came about when my he emailed me a score he’d just made on a single play.    (Fortunately, this was not one of our games).

He played 7 letters along the edge of the board, to complete the word: “WALTZING”,  scoring the 50-point bonus for playing all 7 letters and re-tripling the face value of his letters (including the 10 for Z) by landing on BOTH Triple-word score places.

Buried in a single play

So I commemorated the occasion for him with a sort of trophy-cartoon of his opponent:  Buried, in a single play.

This, by the way is a shot from The Pixie Pit where we play.

Leave a comment